Hatay Antakya Archeology Museum
Archaeological excavations were started for the first time in 1932 in Antakya (Antioch) and through those excavations, various cultural and historical documents of a wide range of period from 4th thousand BC until today have been collected. Because of the great variety and number of works found in the first years of the studies, the establishment of a museum in Antakya was decided upon the request of M. Prost, Antiquities Inspector, working in Hatay (Antakya), which was under the French domination. The plan prepared in compliance with the modern museum understanding was applied in 1934. In the museum, whose construction was completed in 1939, works found in three different scientific excavations are exhibited.
In 1939, when Hatay was integrated to the motherland, Turkey, the museum building was completed and the works discovered in the excavations were stored in there. The museum was opened to the public on July 23rd 1948, the day of independence of Hatay. Alongside its numerous items on display, the museum's rich mosaic collection draws much attention. The additional building was completed at the end of 1973 and opened to service after the considerable renovation. This way, the number of exhibition halls has been increased from five to eight. Since then, the facilities exhibiting the unique Hittite and Assyrian artifacts and relics have acquired contemporary value.
Gündüz Caddesi No.1
Phone : (0326) 214 61 67 -68
Fax: (0326) 214 61 67